About Us

The British Atherosclerosis Society (BAS) is a non-profit-making organisation established in 1999 with the aim of promoting UK atherosclerosis research. The Society evolved from, and maintains the traditions of, the British Atherosclerosis Discussion Group (ADG) which was established in 1958 as an intimate forum for free-ranging and detailed discussions on all aspects of the pathology of atherosclerosis. The BAS continues the tradition of the ADG of promoting full and frank discussion of presented papers: all speakers are encouraged to keep at least one third of their allotted time for discussions, which are always very lively. The broad-based nature of the membership, which includes most of the principal investigators and clinical opinion leaders in the field of atherosclerosis and vascular disease, ensures wide-ranging and critical debate. The Society is affiliated to the European Atherosclerosis Society and the International Atherosclerosis Society. Registered Charity No. 1076448



Professor Charalambos Antoniades
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Director of the Acute Multidisciplinary Imaging and Interventional Centre, John Radcliffe Hospital and University of Oxford
Email: antoniad@well.ox.ac.uk


Professor Sheila FRANCIS

Professor Sheila Francis
Professor of Cardiovascular Biology, Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health, University of Sheffield Medical School, Beech Hill Road, Sheffield S10 2RX
Tel: +44 (0) 114 215 9501
Email: s.francis@sheffield.ac.uk


Professor Tomasz Guzik (Chair elect)
Regius Chair of Physiology/Cardiovascular PathobiologyInstitute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow
Email: tomasz.guzik@glasgow.ac.uk

Executive Committee Members

Dr Alexios Antonopoulos
Visiting doctorial Clinical Researcher, Radcliffe Department of Medicine, University of Oxford
Email: alexios.antonopoulos@cardiov.ox.ac.uk
View biog

Richard Cubbon

Dr Richard Cubbon
University Academic Fellow and Honorary Consultant Cardiologist
School of Medicine, University of Leeds
Email: R.Cubbon@leeds.ac.uk

Prof Marc Dweck

Professor Marc Dweck
Chair of Clinical Cardiology and Consultant Cardiologist, University of Edinburgh & Edinburgh Heart Centre
Email: Marc.Dweck@ed.ac.uk
View biog

Dr Adam Greenstein

Dr Adam Greenstein
University of Manchester

Prof. Pasquale Maffia

Professor Pasquale Maffia 
PhD, FHEA, FRSB, FBPhS, FESC Professor of Cardiovascular Immunology, Deputy Editor Cardiovascular Research, Institute of Infection, Immunity & Inflammation & BHF Glasgow Cardiovascular Research Centre, University of Glasgow 
Email: Pasquale.Maffia@glasgow.ac.uk
View biog

Dr Paul Meakin

Dr Paul Meakin
BHF Basic Science Intermediate Fellow
University of Leeds
Discovery & Translational Science Department
The LIGHT Laboratories
Clarendon Way

Nicola Smart

Dr Nicola Smart (Secretary elect) 
BHF Ian Fleming Fellow, Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Development and Regeneration, University of Oxford
Email: nicola.smart@dpag.ox.ac.uk
View biog

Dr Jason Tarkin

Dr Jason Tarkin
Wellcome Career Development Fellow
University of Cambridge/ Imperial College London
Section of Cardiorespiratory Medicine
Box 110, ACCI,
Addenbrooke’s Hospital
Hills Road, Cambridge

BAS Young Scientist Community

Find out more about the BAS Young Scientist Community