BAS Annual Meeting 2018 – Report

The 2018 BAS Annual meeting,”From the vulnerable plaque to the vulnerable patient”was held at Queen’s College, Cambridge.

We heard state-of-the art talks from Robin Choudhury, Nilesh Samani, Helle Jorgensen, Jason Johnson, David Newby, Keith Channon, Zahi Fayad, Kausik Ray, Ziad Mallat and Arnold von Eckardstein

Talk Sketch from the talk of Professor Keith Channon by Dr Jane Goodall

Congratulations to our Michael Davies early career investigator prize winners and our poster prize winners

Michael Davies Early Career awards (Oral Presentations)

Winner: Alkystis Phinikaridou

Runners up: Ismail Cassimjee and Rikah Louie

Nominees: Sonali Munshaw, Marc Clement, Karina Di Gregoli

Poster awards

Winners: Inhye Park, Lucia Natarelli

Runners up: Adam Hartley, Annabel Taylor, Begona Lavin-Plaza, Stephen White



Hugh Sinclair Lecture

Professor Valentin Fuster gave the 2018 Hugh Sinclair lecture,

“Scientific Bases of Health: Imaging, Omics and Behavior”



Talk sketch by Dr Jane Goodall

Abstracts from the meeting are now published in Cardiovascular Research:

At the annual general meeting, Professor Sheila Francis joined the BAS committee, taking over from Dr Jason Johnson as Secretary. Thanks to Jason for all his hard work and welcome to Sheila!

See you at next year’s meeting in Keble College Oxford – meeting title “Controversies in Cardiovascular Medicine”, 26th – 27th September 2019. Updates will be posted here as the meeting develops.